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Vehicle Registration Late Fee 
 
 

Colorado motor vehicle owners face a new late fee of up to $100 for failing to register their 
vehicles on time. 
  
A law passed this year requires owners of motor vehicles registered on or after June 1, 2009 to 
make a timely payment or face late fees of $25 per month up to a total $100 per vehicle. The 
owner will continue to receive a one month grace period. Then, the $25-per-month late fee 
applies to any portion of the subsequent months for up to four months. 
 
 Example:  Vehicle registration expired in April 
         Grace period expired in May 
 
      If you register the vehicle in: 
 June   Late Fee:  $25.00 
 July Late Fee:  $50.00 
 Aug. Late Fee:  $75.00 
 Sept. Late Fee: $100.00 
 Oct.  Late Fee:  $100.00 
 
Vehicles that have been issued temporary registrations (permits) are subject to the late fee.   
 
 Example: Temporary Permit expiration date is June 3, 2009 
 
 If you register the vehicle between: 
 June  4 – 30 Late Fee:  $25.00 
 July  1 – 31 Late Fee:  $50.00 
 Aug. 1 – 31 Late Fee:  $75.00 
 Sept. 1 – 30 Late Fee: $100.00 
 Oct.  1 – 31 Late Fee: $100.00 
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Vehicle owners who move to Colorado from out of state and do not register their vehicles within 
90 days of residency will be charged late fees up to $100.  Vehicles purchased by Colorado 
residents will be assessed late fees 61 days after the purchase date, if the vehicle is not 
registered. 
 
Vehicles that are used to operate a commercial business as part of the normal operation of the 
business are exempt late fees if the vehicle has not been operated on any public highway in 
Colorado for one full registration period. 
 
The owner of a vehicle who is active in the military serving outside Colorado when the 
registration grace period expires, if the vehicle has not been operated on any public highway in 
Colorado between the time the registration period expired, including the grace period and the 
time the vehicle is registered will be exempt late fees. 
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