

**Fremont County Board of Commissioners** 

## Proclamation

## HONOR FLIGHT OF SOUTHERN COLORADO DAY March 18, 2023

**WHEREAS**, since 2005 The Honor Flight Network, a national organization of more than 130 independent hubs working together to honor America's veterans with an all-expenses paid trip to the memorials built to honor their service and sacrifice in Washington, D.C., has taken more than 250,000 veterans to the memorials in Washington, D.C.; and

**WHEREAS,** Honor Flight of Southern Colorado is a veteran-inspired 501(c)(3) organization with a mission to transport Southern Colorado veterans to Washington, D.C., for a three-day trip to visit the memorials dedicated to those who have served and sacrificed for our great country; and

**WHEREAS,** Honor Flight of Southern Colorado pays 100 percent of the veteran's cost as well as the costs for medical and behavioral therapy personnel and a photographer to capture this once-in-a lifetime trip; and

**WHEREAS,** Honor Flight of Southern Colorado also covers the cost of each veteran's pre-flight lunch, round-trip airfare, lodging, meals, Honor Flight wear (jacket, shirt, hat), bus transportation, and a keepsake memento, and all of their funding comes from private donations and some corporate sponsorship, with 96 percent of every dollar going to costs associated with taking our veterans to Washington, D.C.; and

**WHEREAS,** since its inception in 2011, Honor Flight of Southern Colorado has provided this unique experience to more than 350 World War II, Korean War, and Vietnam War-era cherished heroes and any terminally ill veteran regardless of their time of service.

**NOW, THEREFORE, LET IT BE PROCLAIMED** by the County Commissioners of Fremont County that Saturday, March 18<sup>th</sup>, 2023, is hereby designated as Honor Flight of Southern Colorado Day. The County Commissioners urge all people of Fremont County to support Honor Flight of Southern Colorado today and throughout the year.

Signed this 14th day of March, 2023.

**Kevin Grantham** Chairman, District 1 **Debbie Bell** District 2 **Dwayne McFall** District 3